Sleep & Mood Log

daf6910874e85fb48535e651a6629220

My therapist from talkspace.com asked me several times to keep a log of how many hours I sleep and my mood for each day. I’ve successfully done this since March 29th. The pattern I am seeing is that I sleep too much for a night or two and then the following night I hardly sleep at all. My mood over the last couple of weeks has mostly been negative. Descriptors I have used range from “no energy, neutral mood” to “sluggish” to some days where I say I am “feeling better.”  It appears that the less I sleep the better I feel.

What this tells me is that it is critical for me to maintain a sleep schedule where I sleep 6-8 hours a night. This is difficult for me because on the nights where I sleep 12+ hours there may actually have been an attempt at waking up earlier but it was promptly ignored.

I feel like I am repeating myself but here are some tips on getting better sleep

  • try to go to sleep and wake up at the same time every day, even on weekends
  • be smart about napping – my therapist recommends taking no longer then a 30 minute nap and if I must nap to do so before 4pm
  • control your exposure to light (circadian stuff)
  • avoid bright screens within 2 hours of your bed time (log off)
  • cut down on caffeine
  • avoid drinking too many liquids before bed
  • try some relaxation techniques

There are many more tips at the website linked above.

Do you have any tips for getting a regular amount of sleep?

Leave a Reply

