Resistance

word on billboard
Welcome to the Resistance

I felt inspired to write this post by a couple of things. Today I was reading Behind These Hazel Eye’s and she was talking about what it feels like to come back after losing 8 years to bipolar disorder. Yesterday I finished reading The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown the subtitle of this book is “Let Go Of Who You Think You’re Supposed To Be And Embrace Who You Are.” This book really touched me. I almost feel like the title isn’t strong enough.

What does this have to do with resistance? My favorite quote from the book:

“Revolution might sound a little dramatic, but in this world, choosing authenticity and worthiness is an absolute act of resistance. ”

When you come back to yourself after an episode being authentic is definitely a challenge. You may find yourself asking who is more me, the one who has bipolar or the one on medication being treated for it? Maybe there are some  people with mild forms of bipolar but that is not me. I feel most like myself when I am taking medications.

Lately though I feel a bit sedated. So I contacted my psychiatrist and asked if I could reduce one of my medications. He was fine with that. I have some irl friends who have bipolar disorder and lately they both have issues with their medication saying they want to reduce before talking to a doctor.

It could be that I am very lucky and I have the best psychiatrist; which I think is completely possible. However I think resistance doesn’t necessarily need to be with medications. Join your pdoc in the resistance and live authentically somehow.

Be your mad crazy self but be stable enough to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

