On Stealing Light As A Raven

ravenstealsthelight_by_shadowgirl-d6y6uolRaven Steals The Light by shadowgirl on deviantart.com

Here is some information on why I chose to name my blog “raven stealing light.”

Here is a link discussing Raven Symbolism

What I like best from the site about symbolism of the raven are the following qualities:

  • its business is in both keeping and communicating deep mysteries
  • power of thought and active search for information
  • ability to intuit meaning
  • couldn’t keep a secret
  • southwestern tribes (Hopi, Navajo, Zuni) felt the raven was flew out from the dark womb of the cosmos, and with it brought the light of the sun (dawning of understanding). Consequently, the raven is considered a venerated bird of creation, for without the raven, humans would forever live in darkness.
  • Dr. Carl Jung deemed raven symbolism to represent the shadow self, or the dark side of the psyche
  • esoteric secrets become exposed to the light of our own consciousness

It is my hope that this blog will be somewhat esoteric at times, and at all times open, honest, and revealing of secrets or rather confessions coming from me and my personal life. I would like to keep this blog private from my family and friends, but I for reasons I haven’t explore yet…I feel compelled to share online.

Raven stealing light was something that actually came from my stream of consciousness. I haveĀ  no idea why I thought of it. I was completely unaware of the creation myth of the Pacific Northwest

However although the raven seems a male figure, I am one hundred percent female physically though sometimes I wonder if I think somewhat like a man. Definitely not all the time, since I definitely enjoy some stuff that is generally considered female such as shopping for clothing, shoes, and accessories.

I intend to be somewhat vague when it comes to personal details about myself so that I cannot be identified by my posts. This will not be a blog about my job or much of anything else that would classify me. This blog will probably follow along with my journey through therapy and some of my personal life goals. The major goal right now is continuing to learn to love myself and to do better with self care.

 

Leave a Reply

